Our Team

Staff/Board

Meet Our Staff

Verni Howard
Verni Howard

Verni Howard is a native of Shreveport, Louisiana and the daughter of Rev. and Mrs. C. F. Williams.  She is a 1987 graduate of Caddo Magnet High School and furthered her studies at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge.  After earning a BS in Microbiology (1993) and a MPA (1997), Verni began the Commercial Banking Training program with SunTrust Bank in Atlanta, GA.   After more than 18-years of corporate and non-profit banking experience including Regions Bank, Whitney Bank and JPMorgan Chase, Verni became the new Executive Director of Providence House in December of 2015.

In addition to a stellar banking career, she has served on 15 major boards of directors across the country including East Baton Rouge Parish Redevelopment Authority Advisory Council, Cancer Services of Greater Baton Rouge (In-coming President),  Volunteers of America (Baton Rouge), Volunteers in Public Schools (Treasurer and President), Boys and Girls Club, Catholic Charities (Baton Rouge) and Downtown Development District.  In 2011 she was nominated for the Outstanding Women in Business Award by Cancer Services of Greater Baton Rouge and in 2012 received the Volunteer Activist Award from the Emerge Center, an honor bestowed upon twelve outstanding volunteers across the city of Baton Rouge.  In 2015 she was recognized for her outstanding achievements and was honored with an African American Achievement Award.

Verni is a 2018 Virginia Shehee Influential Woman Award finalist and a 2018 Athena Award finalist. In 2017 Verni received the Blue Cross Blue Shield Angel Award from the Blue Cross Blue Shield Foundation.  She is a Paul Harris Fellow (Shreveport Rotary Club) and 2018 board member of the club. Verni is also a new member of the Louisiana 4-H Foundation’s Board of Directors, Christus Highland Quality Committee, Choice Neighborhood Implementation Advisory Group, Bancorp South CRA Advisory Group and is an ex-officio member of the board of Providence House. Above all, she is committed to God, family and service to the community. 

Verni and her husband Don, have been married for over 20 years.  Together, they have the joy of parenting two fantastic children, Hannah Elizabeth (age 11) and Matthew Reed (age 9).  She lives by the belief that we are our brother’s keeper.

Her heart and hands are committed to serving others!

 

Shelly Marshall

Chief Administrative Officer
smarshall@theprovidencehouse.com

Mary Anne Collie

Executive Assistant
mcollie@theprovidencehouse.com

Dee Thomas

Intake Counseling Specialist
dthomas@theprovidencehouse.com

Patricia Mulvaney

Intake Specialist
patriciam@theprovidencehouse.com

Keeona Jordan

Case Management
Training & Development
kjordan@theprovidencehouse.com

Monique Bryant

Director of Compliance
mbryant@theprovidencehouse.com

 

Yutoriea Smith

Director of Finance
ysmith@theprovidencehouse.com

Jennifer Douglas

Director of Education
education@theprovidencehouse.com

Latoya Thomas

Director of Child Development Center
lthomas@theprovidencehouse.com

Lakeisha Florence

Workforce Development
& Housing Specialist
lflorence@theprovidencehouse.com

Wendy Bristo

Director of Shelter Operations
wbristo@theprovidencehouse.com

Lashon Stubbs

Dietary Supervisor
lstubbs@theprovidencehouse.com

Michael Stubbs

Lead Donations Associate
mstubbs@theprovidencehouse.com

Millie Flowers

Director of Marketing
& Community Engagement
mflowers@theprovidencehouse.com

Stan Hancock

Donor Development Associate I
shancock@theprovidencehouse.com

Tiffany Harris

Volunteer Development Associate II
tharris@theprovidencehouse.com

Support

Advocates/Resident Support
support@theprovidencehouse.com

2019 Board of Directors

Bert Schmale, President

Bancorp South

Daniel Farris, President-Elect 

The Law Office of Daniel Farris

Jacob White, First Vice-President

Lawyer, Ayres, Shelton, WIlliams, Benson & Paine, LLC

Margaret Stagg Sour, Secretary 

Oil and Gas Management

Cody King, Treasurer

Ameriprise Financial Services, Inc.

Allie Aiello, Immediate Past President 

Webster/Bossier Parish District Attorney’s Office

.

Jennifer Frierson

Charlotte Gaffney

Verni Howard (Ex-Officio)

Robert “Bobby” Madison, Sr. 

Marcia Moffatt 

Stephanie Rogers 

Seth Saathoff 

Matthew Sawrie 

Timothy Graham

Chaz Coleman

Michelle Arnold

Emerie Gentry

Power of $25

Your monthly gift can provide food, clothing, shelter, education and support that can forever transform the lives of families in need.